Listen All You People to Darren Hayes

afhayes400.jpg

I LOVE Darren Hayes. He has probably, my most favorite voice of all time.

220px-dananddarren.jpgWhen I first heard Truly, Madly Deeply, I instantly became a Savage Garden fan. I hadn’t even realized that I missed their first single I Want You. Savage Garden (Darren Hayes and Daniel Jones) was an Australian band that snuck up on America and made a bit hit here. Truly Madly Deeply introduced us to  a very unique and beautiful voice and a very entertaining stage and video presence. I Knew I Loved You was the next big hit and everyone ate it up. The Animal Song, originally written for a movie that flopped, was the next I Want you with a peppy beat and fast lyrics. Crash and Burn would become my favorite SG piece. Aptly so, since Savage Garden broke up in 2001.

Hayes’ first solo album Spin with single Insatiable was released in 2002. Tne single was OK, but didn’t really make it and the album fell sort of short of what we were previously getting from Savage Garden. Perhaps going solo, he tried to distance himself from the SG sound. I don’t know. I could never wrap my arms around Spin.

thisdelicatething.jpgSo, now it’s 2007 and August 20th saw a new album.. a double album from Darren. This Delicate Thing We’ve Made certainly has a lot of choices for singles. There’s quite a bit of really good music here and he’s brought his Savage Garden voice back. His vocals are absolutely beautiful even when the music doesn’t quite make it. My favorite song from the double CD is Listen All You People. It’s a wonderful song, sung beautifully but has a back track that reminds me of the theme to Neverending Story or a space war of some sort with phasers…. wait… he’s a HUGE Star Wars fan. hmmm… I hope that wasn’t the inspiration. (Though I love Star Wars) I’m hoping someone will mix it and remove the phaser beams or that Hayes will do an unplugged album just so I can hear it. I may have to import the song into Soundbooth and remove that sound. OK.. I’m obsessing.

The first single, On The Verge Of Something Wonderful, truly is. It’s a good song, memorable vocals and quirky lyrics. I think he’s slipped a bit out of the mainstream’s vision in recent years and will need a lot of airplay to get rolling again. This is the album to do it though. His site DarrenHayes.com has videos for On the Verge and Who Would Have Thought? Hayes doesn’t appear in that second video and it looks like someone did a Flash movie… a good one. It centers around a paper swan. Visually very nice.

Note: As Carolyn mentions in the comments, the video was done by Richard Cullen. Thanks Carolyn. It’s a well done video and glad we could give proper credit.

Darren is based out of London since 2004 and there he lives with Richard Cullen with whom he entered into a civil partnership in June of 2006. Previously married to make up artist Colby Taylor in 1997, the marriage ended in 1999. He’s been with Cullen for about 4 years now and came out on his website with the announcement of his marriage in July 2006. Good job Darren.
Listen All You People is the first track from the album that has been added to AllFunMusik Radio.

Related Posts:
Darren Hayes: When We Were Amazing
Right Now Musik: Darren Hayes
Darren Hayes – Casey
Listen to Casey

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Listen All You People to Darren Hayes”

  1. Carolyn Says:

    Wonderful review of the new CD.

    Just for the record the ‘flash movie’ for “Who Would’ve Thought?” is the work of the wonderful Richard Cullen. Richard’s also done an interesting video for “Words” and co-directed (with Darren) the snazzy new “Me, Myself and I” video, both of which you can see on Darren’s website.

  2. Briony Says:

    Listen All You People is oe of my favourites too. I hope it gets released as a single because it will be a smash if it is!

  3. Sarah Says:

    Yes.
    Darren hayes is one of the best singers in the world
    Brilliant vocal ability.

  4. kiwisoup Says:

    I can’t help but notice that you skipped right over his second album “The Tension And The Spark”

    If you haven’t heard this album, you are truly missing out. It was never released in the US, but is finally available on iTunes.

    It’s my favorite album by far…check it out!

  5. laura Says:

    iloveyou darren hayes and cutie and sweet

  6. Anya Says:

    I agree with Kiwisoup – “The Tension and the Spark” was PHENOMENAL!

  7. Topsoil Hockessin Says:

    Hey mate, thanks 4 posting but this page isn’t vewable in Internet Explorer it is is overlapping.

  8. julieth Says:

    darren hayes is amazing i love him .his the best
    i like so much his songs and his wonderful voice

  9. Is Grow Taller 4 Idiots a Scam Says:

    If some one wishes to be updated with hottest technologies afterward he must be pay a quick visit this web page and be up to date
    all the time.

  10. Thehypothyroidismrevolutionreview.Com Says:

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been conducting a little research on this.

    And he actually ordered me dinner simply because
    I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this.

    … Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for
    spending time to talk about this issue here on your website.

  11. click here to find out more about acne No more Says:

    I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!
    ! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you book-marked to
    look at new stuff you post…

  12. Elisha Says:

    Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you.
    This is really a terrific website.

Leave a Reply

