The Monkees and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

monkees2.jpg

It’s not always the most popular thing to be a Monkees fan. Because The Monkees were contrived, auditioned and set in a television show, their music is somehow thought of as a lesser music.

They sang their own songs and eventually even played the instruments. They had some of the best songwriters of the day (Neil Diamond, Boyce & Hart, Carole King, to name a few). They were pioneers in music video. Ever see a music video before The Monkees? No. Their songs topped the charts where the #2 spot was worlds behind. They sold more records than the Beatles and Rolling Stones combined during their show. They introduced others into the music world, like Jimi Hendrix, for instance.

The band was made up of two unknown musicians (Tork, Nesmith) and two little known actors (Dolenz, Jones) who were thrown together to make a quirky comedy show with a musical backdrop. They must have done something right, because it’s hard to imagine anyone pulling that off again today. In the beginning, they didn’t play their own instruments. There are loads of singers that don’t play instruments. Too many to list. They eventually did, though, but I don’t know why it ever mattered. They sang every song and that’s what we listened to.

I’ve been a Monkees fan since I was 6 and still would listen to their music over a lot of what’s going on today. The Monkees may be a guilty pleasure, but their place in music history is unmistakable.

I am not one for petitions and angry letters to get my way on issues that won’t matter in a hundred years, but denial of The Monkees place in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame seems unfair. Not a global catastrophy, but unfair. I’d like The Monkees to be accepted for what they were and what they changed while they are still alive. I’d like the people that are slightly embarrassed at being a Monkees fan to play their music so their friends can hear it. I’d like everyone to stop using The Monkees as an example of what not to do. That invalidates my enjoyment of the music and I don’t think the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has the right to do that. They were nominated and it was Rolling Stone Magazine that blocked the acceptance. Rolling Stone more than any other entity should know that studio musicians are used constantly by bands. The Beach Boys used them. The Beatles used them. Both in.

So, there is a petetion you can sign online. I know… online signatures don’t carry a lot of weight. But an email address (that you can make private) is required. That’s something, I guess. There are currently 5712 signatures (I am #5712), but there should be a lot more. If you have a moment, sign. Maybe it won’t get The Monkees into the Hall of Fame, but at least it will reaffirm the Monkees Hall of Fans.

http://www.petitiononline.com/Kretch07/petition.html

Tags: , , , , ,

12 Responses to “The Monkees and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame”

  1. Kay Says:

    Thank you thank you, this was really touching and educational!

  2. therracat Says:

    Boy, are you right. It’s not always popular to admit to being a Monkees fan, but I have found that over the years it’s getting easier. I meet 20 year olds who have no freaking idea who they are/were and I meet 20 year olds who want to marry one (or more) of them. I have an interview I did with Peter on my blog where he talks a bit about the long term (and long time) appeal of the Monkees. They do have a weird and wonderful sort of staying power, thanks to the fact that most of them still tour individually and the show still pops up on cable, gathering new fans.

    I’m with you. I hope they get into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

    http://www.artsinamericablogspot.com

  3. angelina42 Says:

    There is no reason why The Monkees should not be in the Rock Hall. It’s such a bummer every year that they are not inducted. I actually just talked about this too because I love The Monkees and since this year’s inductions just happened, felt it needed to be brought up again.

    http://www.threechordheatbeat.wordpress.com

  4. Von Says:

    The Monkees should most diffinately be in the Rock Hall. I for one don’t know why they aren’t. I have loved them and their music since I was a teenager, (which was some time ago). My favorite song is Mary, Mary, written by Michael Nesmith. I don’t care if they did or didn’t play their own instruments, they did learn and Peter and Mike had to fight to get to play. My understanding is they all played some kind of instrument but were’nt allowed to play on their albums, (not their fault). I remember watching the show and noticing music and some sort of skit going on, hence the start of the music video. I also remember each week my favorite Monkee changed. One week Davy was sooo cute then the next week Peter was cute one. One of my favorite shows was the one where Michael was depressed because an agent cheated him with a song he wrote (Gonna Buy me a Dog). Michael looked so cute and hurt while the boys tried to cheer him up. I will forever love the Monkees, forever!!!

  5. Personalised Mugs Says:

    i think that everyone would love to watch some comedy shows because it is very entertaining ,,-

  6. New Leaf is made up a team of professionals with over decades of collective experience in assisting individuals to get the money they need today for their structured settlements Loans Says:

    New Leaf is made up a team of professionals with over decades of collective experience in assisting individuals to get the money they need today for their structured settlements payment…

    […]The Monkees and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame « AllFunMusik[…]…

  7. The Nikon D3100 Camera Review Says:

    The Nikon D3100 Camera Review…

    […]The Monkees and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame « AllFunMusik[…]…

  8. ps4 rumors Says:

    ps4 rumors…

    […]The Monkees and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame « AllFunMusik[…]…

  9. gsvsites.com offers the best possible way to buy gold and silver Says:

    gsvsites.com offers the best possible way to buy gold and silver…

    […]The Monkees and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame « AllFunMusik[…]…

  10. dietaperderpeso.over-blog.com Says:

    I rarely commеnt, but i did some searching and wound up here The Monkеes and tthe Rock & Roll Ηall of Fame | AllFunMusіk.
    Annd Ӏ actually do have 2 questions ffor you if you uuѕually do
    nott mind. Could it be simply mе or does it look like a few
    of these гemarkѕ look like coming ffrom brain
    deaԁ individuals? 😛 And, if youu are writing
    on additional onlinе social sites, I’d like
    to keep up with anythіng fresh you have tо post.

    Could you list of the complete urls of all your social pages like
    your linkedin profіle, Facеboоk page or twitter feed?

  11. Karine Says:

    Hmm іt appears like your blog ate mу first comment (it wаs extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any suggestions for inexpеrienced blog wгiteгs?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  12. http://volkswagenbuyersguide.wordpress.com Says:

    If only I was able to process my thoughts faster.
    Sooo want to set-up a web site like this.

Leave a Reply

